St. Paul United Methodist Church

 
 
Hello!!!  Bless the wonderful name of Jesus!  Todays Word will come from a gentleman out of Virginia.  Rev. Kevin Swann is preacher and motivational speaker who has toured the United States sharing his gift of clearly communication the gospel in ways for people to better understand.  Rev. Swann is also a Believer that Jesus is the only truth and He is the final answer on all matters.

The scripture lesson with this message comes from 
Philippians 3:12b, 
"But I presson, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has laid hold of me."

Picture
Living on the coast of Virginia, there is one thing that all of the residents prepare for this time of year until November: hurricanes. Hurricanes are major storms. This time of year, major storms can come just about any time of day and when they come, they are forceful. Doesn't this resemble our lives to some degree? We all have had a storm in our life. Some we knew were coming like hurricanes. Others came out of nowhere and caught us completely off guard. The issue is not whether storms will come, but what shall we learn from them? What's their purpose? And most important, after the storm is over and we see all of the damage it left behind, how do we move forward? This week's messages will focus on this topic.

Picture
storm driving
Lesson #1 with storms: Storms happen in SPECIFIC places.
 
One day I was driving from Richmond, Virginia to Hampton where I live. The distance is about 75 miles. When I left Richmond it was sunny outside. About half way home, I encountered a TERRIBLE storm. It was so bad, I could barely see the front end of my car! Winds were howling and many cars pulled over on the side of the road waiting for the storm to end. But something told me to just keep driving, even if it was a slow rate of speed. After about five minutes of driving, all of a sudden the rain stopped! Five minutes after that, I could see the sun again! And by the time I got home, my car was COMPLETELY dry. In fact, at home there was NO SIGN of a storm! 

Picture
What's the lesson? I realized that storms happen in CERTAIN places. Specific places. On our jobs. In our marriages. With our children. IN OUR MONEY. Specific places. The key to surviving them is to KEEP MOVING IN GOD! KEEP PRAYING! KEEP TRUSTING! KEEP BELIEVING THAT GOD WILL WORK THINGS OUT. AND LIKE ME, YOU WILL SEE ONE DAY THAT THE STORM WILL END AND THERE WILL BE DAYLIGHT ON THE OTHER SIDE! Just keep moving forward! For those who moved to the side of the road, they had to endure the full force of the storm.  But because I kept moving, I only endured a portion of it. Yes, there are times when it's necessary to be still, but there are also times where we must keep moving, even in difficult moments. Now is not the time to stop praying, stop going to church, stop reading your word, stop sharing your testimony. KEEP GROWING IN GOD AND HE WILL BRING YOU OUT! Are you with me????
 
THANK YOU FOR BEING A PART OF THIS MINISTRY!
 
Be blessed and be a blessing to someone else!

Wow!  What a powerful message!  Keep moving in God, Growing in God, Praying to God, Trusting in God and He will work things out!!!!  Amen family! 


-If you have a Weekly Devotional or Word suggestion, please contact us.  Thank you.-



Leave a Reply.